Religious Education

At Argyle we believe in the importance of children developing and expressing their own beliefs and values. When planning for teaching and learning in Religious Education, we use the Camden Agreed Syllabus 'Living Difference.' Through the 'Living Difference' syllabus children learn that they need to understand how and why people live differently from each other and respect their right to do so. Children learn to identify and understand how and why we have different beliefs, attitudes and practices and that by doing so they can also gain respect from others. Living Difference focusses on enagaging with and enquiring into concepts. Concepts are 'big ideas' that enable us to interpret and communicate human experience and make sense of the world. Within religious traditions people use distinctive concepts to express their experience and their understanding of the world.

At different key stages students are progressively introduced to different groups of concepts as follows:

A concepts that are common to all human experience
For example, remembering, specialness, celebration, rights,
duty, justice

B concepts that are shared by many religions and are used in
the study of religion
For example,God, worship, symbolism, the sacred,
discipleship, stewardship, martyrdom

C concepts that are specific to particular religions
For example, Dukkha, Trinity, Tawheed, Redemption, Khalsa,
Moksha, Torah.

Christianity is taught aross all Key Stages and children are encouraged to make links between their own beliefs, those of Christians and those of other religions they have studied.

In Reception and Key Stage 1 children learn about Islam.

Years 3 and 4 are taught about Hinduism.

Years 5 and 6 learn about Judaism.

                                                   Our Overview of Concepts Taught In Religious Education

Autumn 1

Autumn 2

Spring 1

Spring 2

Summer 1

Summer 2


Special things

Birth celebrating birthdays

Special – people

Symbol of new life eggs

Storytelling – learning from stories

Symbol of light – candlelight


Year 1

Special food

Angels – Christmas

Change – people Jesus met

Sad and Happy – Easter

Special places

Special clothes

Year 2

Rules – in the community

Journey‘s end -Nativity

Ritual – water

Easter - belief

Bible - authority

Trees as a symbol

Year 3

Creation stories

Ritual - Hindu rites of passage

Good and evil – Holi

Symbol - cross as a Christian symbol

Death ceremonies

Devotion – Hindu worship

Year 4

Good and evil - Divali

Holy – Mary, mother of god

Jesus' miracle stories

Ritual - paschal candle

Faith - Arti ceremony

Sacred - places of worship

Year 5

Ritual – Sukkoth

Identity – Hanukkah


Symbol - Eucharist -What does Easter mean ?

Messages – Jesus his teaching and his message

Special books

Year 6

Ritual - prayer

Interpretation – Christmas the two birth narratives (Mathew and Luke)


Resurrection – the empty cross


Interpretation – how do people perceive God?

Educational Visits

Visits to different places of religious worship is seen as an invaluable part of our teaching of Religious Education. 

 Reception children visited the local Mosque and Holy Cross Church to find out how each is special to their followers. They learned about the importance of the candles in the church and why the bell is so important. In the Mosque they learned about why followers of islam wash their feet on entry to the Mosque and about prayers.An invaluable part of childrens' learning about world religions and the wider community are visits to different places of worship including a Church, Mosque and Synagogue. We encourage all children to take part in visits to places of worship. If parents have any concerns about this, we ask them to discuss with us and it us usually possible for parents to join these visits too.

photo 13     photo 14 

     Cromer Street Mosque                      Holy Trinity Church